Astrid Sees All

Astrid Sees All

A Novel

Book - 2021 | First Atria Books hardcover edition
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
"New York's last bohemia-the glittering, decadent downtown club scene of the 1980s-is the setting for this brilliantly winning novel about a smart, vulnerable young woman taking a deep dive into her dark side, essential for fans of Sweetbitter, Fleabag, and books by Patti Smith. New York, 1984: Twenty-two-year-old Phoebe Hayes is a young woman in search of excitement and adventure. But the recent death of her father has so devastated her that her mother wants her to remain home in Baltimore to recover. Phoebe wants to return to New York, not only to chase the glamorous life she so desperately craves but also to confront Ivan, the older man who painfully wronged her. With her best friend Carmen, she escapes to the East Village, disappearing into an underworld haunted by artists, It Girls, and lost souls trying to party their pain away. Carmen juggles her junkie-poet boyfriend and a sexy painter while, as Astrid the Star Girl, Phoebe tells fortunes in a nightclub and plots her revenge on Ivan. When the intoxicating brew of sex, drugs, and self-destruction leads Phoebe to betray her friend, Carmen disappears, and Phoebe begins an unstoppable descent into darkness. She may have a chance to save herself-and Carmen, if she can find her-but to do it she must face what's hiding in the shadows she's been running from-within her heart and in the dangerous midnight streets. A love letter to gritty 1980s New York City, Astrid Sees All is an irresistible, original novel about female friendship, sex and romance, and what it's like to be a young woman searching for an identity"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York : Atria Books, 2021
Edition: First Atria Books hardcover edition
ISBN: 9781982153656
1982153652
Branch Call Number: FIC STA
Characteristics: 258 pages; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
sotto_sis Mar 18, 2021

I was a bit skeptical at first about the titular "Astrid"/Phoebe. But as she comes to see herself as more than a "good girl" and faces her more difficult qualities, the novel really unfolds into something original, honest, and real.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top