The Wife Upstairs

The Wife Upstairs

A Novel

eBook - 2021
Average Rating:
Rate this:
11
“Compulsively readable...a gothic thriller laced with arsenic.” ––EW One of the Most Anticipated Books of 2021: CNN • Newsweek • Vulture • PopSugar • TimeOut • Woman's Day • Goodreads • She Reads • Good Housekeeping • CrimeReads • Frolic • Hello! • Mystery and Suspense January 2021 Indie Next Pick and #1 LibraryReads Pick A delicious twist on a Gothic classic, The Wife Upstairs pairs Southern charm with atmospheric domestic suspense, perfect for fans of B.A. Paris and Megan Miranda. Meet Jane. Newly arrived to Birmingham, Alabama, Jane is a broke dog-walker in Thornfield Estates––a gated community full of McMansions, shiny SUVs, and bored housewives. The kind of place where no one will notice if Jane lifts the discarded tchotchkes and jewelry off the side tables of her well-heeled clients. Where no one will think to ask if Jane is her real name. But her luck changes when she meets Eddie Rochester. Recently widowed, Eddie is Thornfield Estates’ most mysterious resident. His wife, Bea, drowned in a boating accident with her best friend, their bodies lost to the deep. Jane can’t help but see an opportunity in Eddie––not only is he rich, brooding, and handsome, he could also offer her the kind of protection she’s always yearned for. Yet as Jane and Eddie fall for each other, Jane is increasingly haunted by the legend of Bea, an ambitious beauty with a rags-to-riches origin story, who launched a wildly successful southern lifestyle brand. How can she, plain Jane, ever measure up? And can she win Eddie’s heart before her past––or his––catches up to her? With delicious suspense, incisive wit, and a fresh, feminist sensibility, The Wife Upstairs flips the script on a timeless tale of forbidden romance, ill-advised attraction, and a wife who just won’t stay buried. In this vivid reimagining of one of literature’s most twisted love triangles, which Mrs. Rochester will get her happy ending?
Publisher: [S.l.]: St. Martin's Publishing Group, 2021
ISBN: 9781250245519
Characteristics: 304 p
Additional Contributors: cloudLibrary

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
d
Dee_BPL
Apr 13, 2021

I loved this book and I'm quite surprised by the negative reviews in the comments! If you like a domestic thriller give it a try! I listened to the audiobook and was finished in a day. I found Jane & Eddie's journey quite entertaining.

JCLPiepieB Apr 09, 2021

A good story, and I loved the clever similarities between this and Jane Eyre, but I found it easy to put this down and move on to something else.

s
shmoreno
Apr 05, 2021

domestic suspense, thriller 2021

m
mcmont
Apr 02, 2021

There were a few surprises, but the "who done it" was evident about half way through. The biggest question was Jane's secret, which was only a bit connected to the real intrigue of the plot. As you read through it, you will encounter a few surprises, but I found it to be needing a bit more entanglement. Not great, but not awful for her first adult targeted novel.

LVCCLD_LeahNOTLeia Mar 23, 2021

Modern day Jane Eyre

l
LorettaMCottone
Mar 01, 2021

A twisted take on Jane and Rochester. Read it!

JCLS_Ashland_Kristin Feb 23, 2021

A thriller that is also a Jane Eyre retelling?...sign me up!

a
Alpha_zzz
Feb 15, 2021

I wouldn’t recommend this book. It’s a very convoluted story and one where the author is trying to create a twist, but the twist doesn’t work and the story becomes even more confusing. The other small annoyance I had with this was the lack of quality editing. It was poorly edited and I found a few obvious mistakes that should have been caught during the edit.

c
curd5223
Feb 10, 2021

I just finished this book today. What a waste of my time. I've never seen the "f" word used more than this. It showed up on every page at least once.
Also, why do authors think we care or need to know their political views? That didn't show up until I was almost finished or I would have returned it right away.
The story just got more "stupid" as I turned the pages. Don't waste your time like I did reading this.

b
brangwinn
Jan 05, 2021

I seldom like a book filled with so many unlikeable characters, but Rachel Hawkins has used their unpleasant characteristics to good advantage in this modern retake on Jane Eyre. You need not have read that classic to be quickly enmeshed in the story of Jane who moves to Birmingham Alabama to restart her life. Taking a job as a dog walker in a wealthy community, she becomes romantically involved with one of her clients and moves in with him as she prepares for their marriage. Her fiancé’s wife and her best friend have been murdered although the body of Eddie’s wife has never been found. From the title, readers will guess correctly that Eddie has hidden Bea in a secure room upstairs. Lots of twists and turns and an unexpected ending make this one a stay up late to find out what happened. The audiobook adds to the suspense with great voice changes for the three narrators make it a very easy book for listening enjoyment.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top